Information resources for all levels of English
Oliver is our Library Catalogue. It is a one-stop-shop for all your information needs. It lists a range of information sources including books, over 6000 specially chosen websites, documents and audio-visual resources. Click image below.
Please ask a member of the library staff for assistance if you have any problems using this catalogue or click here.
The password for this resource is your assessment password.
Poetry books can be found on our library shelves at 821.
Books on writing poetry can be found at 808.1.
- The Poetry Society Poetryclass
The Poetry Society's Poetryclass project supports educators, poets and parents in using poetry for learning.
- Poetry Collections
The Poetry Collections page has links to poetry available online. Also lesson plans and activities related to poetry forms, figurative language, or poetic style (such as Epics, Haiku or Poetry Slams).
Poetry4kids.com the funny poetry playground of Children's Poet LaureateKenn Nesbitt, where you will find lots of funny poems and poetry books for children,classic children's poetry, games, contests, poetry lessons and activities, and journals, plus a rhyming dictionary, funny poetry podcast, videos, and lots more.
- Children's Poetry Archive
The Poetry Archive is a place where everyone can listen to poetry. There is something special about listening to a poet reading his or her own work. Here is a collection of recordings available to people who are interested in hearing them.
- Poetry through the Ages
For more than 4,500 years ago, civilizations have expressed their most beautiful, tragic, triumphant, and perceptive thoughts through poetry.
- Poetry and Performance
Listen to well-known actors performing poetry by some of Britain and America’s most distinguished poets.
- The Poetry Place
The aim of the Poetry Place is to help with the teaching,
understanding and enjoyment of poetry.
- Great Books Online
With tens of thousands of poems by thousands of authors, Bartleby.com offers one of the largest and oldest free full-text collections of verse on the web.
- Poetry Box
A New Zealand Poetry Page for Children
The home of funny poetry by the Fizzy Funny Fuzzy poet, Gareth Lancaster.
- Poetry by Heart
- The Australian Poetry Library
Provides an alphabetical list of Australian poets and poems by theme or occasion, including bush poetry, death, love, peace, war, friendship, humour.
- Australian bush poetry, verse and music
Australian poetry and traditional Australian bush music, poets include Henry Lawson, A.B. (Banjo) Paterson, William Ogilvie, Adam Lindsay Gordon, John O'Brien, Thomas E. Spencer and B. H. Boake as well as modern poets.
- Poetry International web - Australia
The Australian pages of Poetry International Web contains critical analyses of contemporary Australian poets. Each entry has the full text of selected poems, a bibliography and additional links.
- Australian children's poetry
This site showcases the work of contemporary Australian poets and poems for children. An A-Z list of poets provides biographical details and excerpts of poems.
- Poetry for kids
Sherryl Clark's site presents a selection of her poems (including audio readings) as well as ideas to encourage poetry writing.
- Red room company
The Red Room Company presents Australian poems by Australian poets. There is an alphabetical list of poets and their poems, and a section on poetry projects.
An annual poetry competition for school aged children.
- Poem Hunter
Poem Hunter has poems on many different themes from poets around the world. Search by poem title or poet.
- Poems for Kids
Poems for Kids have been written by many famous Australian poets, including Banjo Paterson and C J Dennis. Poems are grouped by themes and by poetic form.
- Perform a Poem
Become engaged with poetry in the classroom by watching video performances of poetry.
- Steven Herrick
Steven's website with links to his own performances of his poems.
- Australian Children's Poetry - Poem of the Day
The work of contemporary Australian poets and poems for children.
- Instant Poetry Forms
Choose your poetry form from the list of links. Then just add words to make the poem your own.
- Rhyme Zone
Find rhymes, synonyms, definitions, and more!
- Power Poetry
Motivation and tips for writing poetry. Your words can change the way people look at the world and our guides will help you improve.
- Writing with Writers - Poetry
Study the genre of poetry by taking part in step-by-step workshops with favorite authors.
- Poetry Idea Engine
The Poetry Idea Engine will allow you to write haikus, free verse, limericks, and more.